blog 2

Friday night, I went out to eat and I ordered a hamburger.  When the waitress placed my food down in front of me, the bun was laying on the side showing the meat, I realized that my burger had once been part of a cow.  I never thought twice about what I was eating up until that point in my life.  After our discussion in class about how we usually don’t think about how our food used to be part of a living animal, I thought about how the cow that made my hamburger lived its life.  That brought me back to those videos we watched in class about the cruel conditions these animals are kept in when they are alive.  The cramped living conditions they are stuck in and how the force-fed corn makes them sick.  The more shocking fact was how their human masters treated them; kicking them around like a soccer ball.  My point is, after seeing what goes on behind the scenes, maybe you would think twice about what you eat.  I believe this is the case because we, as consumers, are becoming increasingly distant to our food production processes and sources.

            I read an article on the New York Times about how the Food and Drug Administration declined to regulate the use of antibiotics in animal agriculture (http://bittman.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/01/06/the-f-d-a-s-token-gesture/#more-3445).  The article went on to mention “the F.D.A. made it crystal clear that, despite the increasingly common threat of antibiotic-resistant bacteria in supermarket meat, it would leave the regulating up to industry itself.”  I just find this irresponsible of the FDA, especially considering this is a professional governmental administration.  Leaving an industry to regulate itself is like telling an alcoholic not to drink and then leaving him in a room full of alcohol.  The FDA needs to set some kind of ground rules at least so these companies don’t screw things up too much.  I am suspecting some form of state capture that’s in effect but that is still no excuse.  Also, another problem with no antibiotic regulation is that diseases will build up an immunity to these antibiotics that protect us, creating mutant bacteria that we have no chance of fighting.  The article mentioned how in 2010, 29 million pounds of antibiotics were used on animals.  Just the fact that there is a need for these antibiotics to keep the animals healthy (due to their living conditions) is wrong.

Leave a Reply

